• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

A Claim of Promissory Estoppel/Detrimental Reliance?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Liberal93

Hello all, I am a resident of California and have recently been forced into unemployment and near-bankruptcy by an injustice in the workplace for which I believe is grounds for a detrimental reliance lawsuit.

What happened was that a new job hiring required I put in my two-week notice at my then-current job. I agreed to this policy, and after the two-weeks notice and that much time later, I had officially quit that previous job. But even well before then, I went further with my new job to complete the W2s and the new-hire forms. I was officially hired after all the contracts and agreements I signed and dated that day. But since the job was for delivering pizza, they still needed my driver’s license, vehicle registration, insurance policy, social security card, and DMV history. However, I had recently lost my wallet which just happened to have my S.S. card in it for the one day, and I told them (at the new job) that I would need to be doing some hunting around for a copy or alternative of some sort to my S.S. card. I suggested that I give them the outstanding paperwork incrementally as I am able to obtain them so as for the S.S. card to not delay the submission of the rest of the documents. However, they told me to wait until I possessed everything and then to bring them all in at once. I agreed, but I could not find a copy of my S.S. card quickly, nor could I find an alternative replacement, and they never gave me a window of time in which to submit the remaining documents.