• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

College Honor Code Violation's Effect on Hiring

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

SeekingSerenity

During college, I got an honor code violation for changing an exam being submitted for a regrade. As a punishment, I got an F in the class plus a permanent notation in my student files. However, my college does not document such incidents on transcripts.

I graduated from college a few years ago. Since then, I have been spent time out of the United States and have also being doing contractual work, which has minimal background checking. I, however, want to get a full-time, permanent job.

How likely is an employer to discover such information during the background check process? If they do discover it, is that usually an automatic disqualifier?

Do background checks usually uncover such information? And what steps should I take to make things as favorable for myself as possible? (The incident occurred roughly 5.5 years ago).

You can send me a PM if you would prefer to do so.

Zigner

Senior Member, Non-Attorney
1: Sorry, this forum is for US law questions only.

2: Your question is not a legal question.

OHRoadwarrior

Employers want to verify you have a degree and what grades you received. Unless you applied for a specialty position involving a comprehensive background check, it should never come up.

Mnemosyne

During college, I got an honor code violation for changing an exam being submitted for a regrade.

... what steps should I take to make things as favorable for myself as possible? (The incident occurred roughly 5.5 years ago).