• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Was this company in the wrong for firing me?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

favabean1982

So, here’s the situation. This all takes place in Wisconsin, just to let you know right off the bat.
I have some misdemeanors in my background-I made some mistakes, was arrested in 2005 and was eventually convicted in November of 2006 for trespassing and being caught with stolen property. Since then, I’ve made every effort to overcome and move on from these errors, primarily through getting married and had a child, receiving a college degree, currently owning a home and having worked numerous decent jobs, all of which have required a background check I’ve consistently been able to pass.
Throughout this year, a friend of my wife had been courting me to come over to their company based on some experience I have that could make me a good fit. After some hesitation, I eventually agreed to interview, was offered a job on the spot and, due to the closeness of the office to my home and the opportunities for advancement I was willing to take a pay cut from the position I was in at the time to start this new job. It seemed like I’d found a good place to continue my career.
Before I started, I had to complete a good amount of new hire/onboarding information online, which included a background check authorization. Following this, I still needed to come into the office before I started to complete a few additional pieces of physical paperwork, which I assumed was payroll information or something along those lines.