• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Continue Unemployment Insurance after quitting new job

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

fuh fashion

CA

I have just quit a new job after realizing after 3 days of work the following:

1. Salary is only $1 more per hour or $100 more per week versus my current UI.
2. New job location is significantly farther than I realized from home (about 20 miles). Plus, traffic on 101N is, needless to say, so horrible!
3. I'm a college graduate with a degree in Psychology and all of my jobs have been related in this field. I feel I didn't fit in a new role that did not match my field of expertise and, well, didn't really require a degree to start with.

I feel I've made a huge mistake from getting too excited and grabbing instantly as soon as it hit me this opportunity called "job". I've been out of work since February. But the new job is just not for me.

Do I have a chance of continuing my Unemployment Insurance, or am I completely doomed?
I have been calling the unemployment compensation office for 2 days to ask their advise and could not get one agent to talk to me. I get directed to an answering machine.

Last edited:

ecmst12

This will NOT be considered a valid reason to quit a job and you will not get your UC back. You didn't have a choice to accept the job, either, if you'd turned it down that would have disqualified you for benefits as well. You should have kept working at the crappy job until you found a new one.

eerelations