• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Contract from previous employment period

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

bellman50

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? FL (Employer is in PA)

I started working with this company in 1990. When I was hired I signed a contract. I am a service technician and a majority of my work time is spent driving to calls. Due to the nature of the work though, my contract states that I am guaranteed a certain number of hours each week, even when I don't have any calls and I have to stay at home. The original contract that I signed in '90 stated that the number of guaranteed hours was 50 and that any hours in excess of that was overtime. In 2009, everyone was reduced to 4 day work weeks, so the way that they did it for us service techs was to reduce our salary by 80%, which equated to 42 2/3 hours each week. This was done by the signing of a new contract in 2009.

Then last year, the company was sold to a new owner. He dissolved the old Inc. and replaced it with an LLC, and I was laid off. I was given severance pay and was told to look for work elsewhere. I ended up being out of work for 2 1/2 months before they hired me back. The managers had all been replaced, and the manager at the time sent me a new contract in an email. The contract itself didn't specify anything about number of hours or an hourly rate, it only specified an annual salary and that I am non-exempt. The email that contained the contract included calculations for a 32 hour work week, which brought the hourly rate up from what it had been previously.