• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Criminal Background Termination

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

M

maryandmichaelb

i live in texas, and recently my employer found out i have an arrest for a 2nd degree felony for which i was not convicted, but served deferred adjudication probation. is my employer able to terminate me due to this? i have worked for almost 2 years and am highly respected by peers and have an impeccable work history with this employer.

cbg

I'm a Northern Girl
If there was a question on the application asking about arrests and you did not answer truthfully, then you can be terminated for falsifiying your application. Otherwise, probably not.

C

ChumKui

maryandmichaelb said:
i live in texas, and recently my employer found out i have an arrest for a 2nd degree felony for which i was not convicted, but served deferred adjudication probation. is my employer able to terminate me due to this? i have worked for almost 2 years and am highly respected by peers and have an impeccable work history with this employer.
Texas' employment is "At-Will"

cbg

I'm a Northern Girl
That's true. All states except Montana are at-will. However, even in an at-will state the employer has a few restrictions with regards to what they can and cannot fire someone for. It's not unrestricted. In general, with a few exceptions, an employee cannot be terminated because of an arrest. For a conviction, yes, depending on circumstances. And definitely because of a falsification of their application. But not because of an arrest.

C

ChumKui

That's interesting. I'd really like to see documentation showing that. In your opinion, would you consider deferred adjudication a conviction?