• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Defamation?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Agundel

What is the name of your state? I work in Virginia but the defamation occurred while at a client site in California.

I am a consultant who was assigned a project with an employer in California. I was part of a team of consultants assigned to the project. The project ended up costing the client more money then originally budgeted due to promises made by my organization and general mismanagement by of the project itself by my company and the client. The client was looking to receive money back on consulting fees and accused both myself and another consultant of lying on timesheets, being tardy, taking late lunches, improper expenses (billed to the client), and that our (the other consultant and I) relationship interfered with our quality of work thereby causing the project to fail and go over budget. The client had no grounds for the accusations made i.e.; we sign automated timesheets which are approved by our managers, we were not given a set time to arrive to work (we would come in around 9:00 a.m. or 9:30 a.m. depending on the amount of work and if we had to work with other employees at the client), and we turn in expense reports on a fairly regular basis. I had submitted at least 5 or 6 expense reports prior to the allegations with no comments regarding improper expenses made by the client. The relationship between the other consultant and I had no bearing on work performed. We worked with two separate departments and we have different consulting responsibilities. That being said, the client made the accusations against us to our company and demanded money back for our consult