• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

denied unemployment because boss lied

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

justinm4529

What is the name of your state? FL

i worked as a cook in a resturaunt. i worked there for about three years. one day i accidentally missed a shift due to a schedualling misscommunication. after finding out about this, i call my job to explain the situation and make sure everything was allright. as it turns out, i was still on the next weeks schedual, but with zero hours. the owner of the store explained to me that he would be discussing the situation with the other managers and would be in touch with me. after a few days pass i call back there to find out that i had been terminated. after applying for unemployment i found that i was denied because my boss told the unemployment office that i quit. i think the official term he used was "job abandonment" this however is not the case. i wanted and needed my job. now im sure my boss in the frame of mind that, just by me not showing up to work, that i was quitting. but after serval attempts to try to talk it out, and me stil being on the schedual for a week with no hours, i cant concieve how this guy can get away with saying i quit. i have a meeting with him tomarrow to disscuss the situation before actually putting in an appeal.

please tell me what would be the best way to go about this? im very sure that if i thoroughly explain how illegal and unethical this is, my former boss will cave.

cbg

I'm a Northern Girl
You didn't show up for a shift - that can easily and legally be called job abandonment even if it was not intentional.

The boss didn't lie - you didn't show up when you were expected to.