• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Designating me on FMLA after 4 months

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

P

Philip N. Beam

Where are you Human Resource people? FMLA problem.

My employer has told me last week over the phone that I am on FMLA starting November 10. I had been out on disability from January 21 to July 5. I was released with a "minimal" restriction by my doctor that I should not be returned to the call center enviroment due my diagnosed anxiety disorder. I went on 1/2 pay on July 21 and have sat waiting for them to find me an alternate vacant position. I have a Bachelors(89) and Masters(92) degrees (3.6 & 3.7 GPAs) in Industrial Distribution from The University of Texas at Tyler that they have not recognized as qualifying me for an alternate position outside of the entry level position at the call center. I ended up in this job after 15 years in the oilfields when I was transferred to a plant in Houston NOV96. I submitted my resume to Human Resources at that time and they assigned me to the entry level position at a call center where my education was not considered. I have struggled ever since to maintain and have pretty much gone downhill. They have told me repeatedly that if you don't recruit in initially with the education, it's not on the table. This is the largest oil company in the world and their policy manuals are rife with committment to the employee and non-discrimination. I find myself in a position now where I'm certain the goal is to put me out on a medical disabilty after the FMLA leave is up. The information I'm finding on FMLA is contradictory. Some say the employer can designate me on FMLA and run my disability concurrent while other s