• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

discharged based on "hearsay", no proof!

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Status
Not open for further replies.

ajfmsla

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Montana
I was recently discharged on the grounds of someone reporting that I was not wearing my scrubs(I work as a personal care giver), and all my clients will vouch that I have been wearing them even though the clients don't want me to wear them because it makes them feel like they're in a hospital.

I was also charged with falsifying time worked on my time sheet; however, they didn't have the time sheet because I didn't hand it in yet! So they also discharged me on the grounds of MEDICARE FRAUD! Again, this allegation came about from hearsay -- no proof!

I am now in limbo because, of course the charges against me. My name and my reputation is tarnished and I probably will not get unemployment. I loved my job, I loved my clients, and I refused to sign the counseling form the HR lady presented to me because I did not agree with what they were charging me with, and I did not want to quit my job.

My question is, is it wrongful termination here? It sure feels like it, because I honestly didn't know what I was doing wrong to get formally written up--even with no verbal warnings. I feel like I'm in deep Ka Ka, but I shouldn't feel that way because I didn't do anything wrong!

W

Willlyjo