• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Discrimination after surgery and threatening termination

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

cassie2002

Texas: My employer is threatening my imminent termination due to my surgery and recovery. Doctor signed for me to back to work part time with no lifting, pushing, pulling. Employer is unwilling to make any accommodations despite desk duties being available and given to 5 other employees over the last 3 years. I am a nurse so do a lot of moving patients, stretchers and such.

I filed with EEOC for discrimination citing the Disabilities Act. EEOC said the employer is required to provide accommodations.

Employer has called me 3 times but I have not answered wanting to get the EEOC filed and to them before they fire me, which has been filed and delivered to my employer. Should I take their call or consult an attorney first? I'm wondering if it was a bad thing for me to suggest becoming an as needed employee if they were going to terminate me from my full time position/

commentator

How long has all this been going on. Okay, you were out for surgery how long? We assume, since it hasn't been brought up, that you didn't qualify for FMLA? (In other words, have not been there a year they do not have over 50 employees within a certain radius, all the basics, you can read it) But if you did qualify for FMLA, then your job would've been protected for 12 weeks at least. Or did you have it, and had you been off the full 12 weeks and then they said they were going to terminate?