• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Discrimination or not?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

els

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Wisconsin

I worked as a RN in a large hospital for 12 years as a float nurse, no benefits but great pay. I caught Lyme Disease last summer and became paralyzed from the Lyme bacteria in my spine. When my LOA ran out I was still in a wheelchair recovering and couldn't do my job as a floor nurse. My job fired me stating I had no more LOA and couldn't physically work. Since then people have been asking me if I'm going to sue, including my bankruptcy lawyer. They are all surprised when I tell them no. I don't think I'd have a case since I couldn't physically perform my duties, besides being in a wheelchair I had horrible tremors, memory problems, lots of pain and on many meds including narcotics. I couldn't apply for unemployment because you have to look for work to get paid, so I went on disability. Like I said, I don't think I'd have a case to sue, but others do, what is your opinion on this matter?

Ozark_Sophist

Have you applied for disability?

The ADAAA requires employers to individual evaluate an employee's request for reasonable accommodations. If you did not request an accommodation, there is nothing at this point to file a complaint about. A reasonable accommodation in you circumstances may not have been possible given your professional ethical obligations. Even a job transfer to a position suitable to your current needs may not have been possible, particularly if you have or are looking at filing for disability (a different position with less pay would lower future disability income, for example.)

swalsh411