• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Dismissed?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

ccphilly102

I live in PA. I am a teacher and have been a tenured teacher for over 10 years, with 20+ years of total teaching time in.
My question/situation is this,
A few weeks ago, I was talking to coworkers figuring out a lesson plan with them for the up coming semester, we were all talking and we are all very close, let me add.
When we finally finished everyone was happy with the results and we got into more casual chatter. During that conversation I used extremely poor judgement and used a racial slur while expressing my concern over a student who is just out-right lazy, doesnt want to be in school, doesn't try to help himself and is basically going through the motions on a daily basis, when he does show up, but thats beside the point.
One of my friends/coworkers reported this incident and said she was uncomfortable"" with this comment.
In turn my employment was terminated and I am stunned.
I agree, I was in the wrong, I used poor judgement, and I have never said anything like this, my record is spotless, I have done nothing but good and have bent over backwards for all of my students, as I am in special education at a local high school. I have taken the time on numerous occasions to stay late to help them, given extra credit as a way to not fail, and to not graduate, I have been friendly on personal levels in communication with parents, again, spotless record. All of my other coworkers are in shock over this, knowing the type of person I am, its just unlike me.
Again, horrible judement was used, but does this constitute dismissal?