• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Drug test negative but denied employment for failure of drug test?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

sundaypainter

What is the name of your state? Iowa

Hi. I am new here. I found this place after searching round the net for legal advice.

I was recently denied employment at a local city facility. I have a degree and was basically all hired, or so I thought.

One hiccup in the system was the drug test. Being an artisist I am often unfairly accused of using, possesing, or having knowledge of illegal drugs. Now, I wont say I didnt experiement in High School and such, but I am a professional now, and I am not a drug user. I had no fear of this test, and to me, it was merely a technicality.

I was given an appointment at the hospital lab and told simply to go there and they would instruct me on what to do. I went to the lab for my appt. and was given no specific instructions besides the main two. I was not supposed to flush the toilet or touch the sink. I gave my sample and was happily on my way to getting a great job.

Two days later I was informed that my sample was dilute and that I would need to retest. I was given no instruction or explination, simply told when my new appointment was. I didnt really know what had happened, but I assumed it was just that I had drank too much water. Who could blame me, its 90 degrees and 80% humidity most days, and I dont have air conditioning. For the second sample I consumed only 12 ounces of water over the entire day, and I gave my sample at 4pm. The nurse said the sample was notibly more odorous and colorful, and she said that it would definately be a good sample.