• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Employee Recourse

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

B

Balderdash

What is the name of your state?

North Carolina

Employer - Local Municipality

I apologize for the length of the original post and have tried to condense this as much as possible and still cover the issue.

I am a retired Police Officer. In August of 2001 I was rehired as a part time dispatcher by the municiplality from which I retired.

At the time I was hired, a position was basically created for me, utilizing existing resources, and a verbal agreement was negotiated between the Chief of Police and myself, the terms of which were approved by the City Manager's Office. One of the terms specifically stated that I would not have to work weekends.

I worked under the terms of this agreement for 28 months, through the administration of 3 police chiefs and 3 city managers, and was held to the letter as far as being denied raises and benefits, etc.

Approximately two months prior to my final seperation from the department, I was told that I would be terminated, on or about April 1, 2004 when a full time dispatcher who was hired approximately 1 year after I was, but who was away on military leave, would be returning and I was the only expendable dispatcher because I was "only part time".

On December 28, 2003, I was called at home by one of the department's administrative officers and informed that I would have to alter my work schedule to include every other Sunday and I was not given a choice in the matter.

When I declined I was told "If you can't work the hours that I need you to, I can't use you."