• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Employer closing store, threatening to fight unemployment claims

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

slchanmo

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Pennsylvania

I work as a waiter in a restaurant. The other night at work, my boss announced he would be closing the restaurant, effective immediately (two days notice). We are currently fully staffed, and he offered all of the waitstaff new jobs at his other locations, which are also fully staffed, and therefore he does not need any more waitstaff. He offered me a position at a location in another state. His other restaurants are fully staffed, so he doesn't really have real jobs to offer us, but he threatened us that if we apply for unemployment, he will fight it because he technically offered us jobs at the other restaurants.

He is not giving us much time to work anything out - today is the restaurant's last day open, after he announced the closing two days ago. He is pressuring us to give him answers, but I have avoided doing so, just telling him I am still considering his offer. I suspect this is a ploy to get out of paying into unemployment.

How can we fight him on this and still receive unemployment? What do you think our chances will be? I will be looking for a new job, and hope not to be on unemployment for very long, but since we didn't receive much notice, I need some form of support until I can get started working somewhere else.

Thanks for your help.

Last edited:

cbg

I'm a Northern Girl