• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Employer said i did not return equipment

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

salt

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? IN

I am a former corrections officer that quit my job due to some very hinky circumstances regarding the administration level of the facility. I am currently battling them in an unemployment appeal. The very last day I did return my equipment. In the argument they are making; they are saying I did not. They did not give me a receipt stating that I returned my tools, and never contacted me regarding this issue. The appeal hearing is coming soon, is there a way to prove that I did not keep their items? I hate nothing more than being called a liar when I am honest and upfront with my employers.

Thank you in advance for any information you can provide to me.

Sincerely,
Hypertension

Last edited:

commentator

Okay, the unemployment appeal cannot be about whether or not you returned their equipment. Because that took place after you "quit my job." Regardless of the reason, approval or denial of unemployment benefits is about the reason you are not working any more, not what happened after you quit or were fired regarding your final paycheck, or equipment you did or did not return.

If you quit a job, which you did, you must, in order to receive unemployment benefits, show that you had a very good work related reason to quit. If you were being singled out, treated unfairly, asked to do something illegal or unethical, to misrepresent data, etc. that might be considered a good enough reason to self-terminate that you would have a chance of being approved for benefits.