• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Employment Agreement Breach

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

S

stevenf

I am a resident of Wisconsin. I entered into an employment agreement for a consulting firm operating out of New Jersey and incorporated in Delaware. This agreement was initiated while I was formerly a resident of Oregon. The terms of the agreement specify terms of the agreement following the laws of Delaware.

My employer sent me a letter stating that my position had been eliminated. My contract clearly provides for written notice of 30 days before termination. My employer has since maintained that my termination was for-cause, with no supporting documentation ever presented, and has backdated the notification date by 5 days prior to receipt of the termination letter. In addition, their attorney is citing a non-existent clause in my contract that they claim gives them relief from the 30-day provision.