• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

employment application

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

scrappie

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? MA.
I am 46 yrs old. I was a pilot for a regional airline for about a year up until sept. 11 2001. I had to quit and find other work to support my family because I was only making about 22k/yr and the future did not look that bright.
I am thinking about getting back to flying and have been filling out some applications. A lot of these apps have a question: "have you ever been arrested or convicted" it also says to answer even if you think your record has been expunged or sealed. And if they find out you are lying it will be l grounds for immediate termination.
When I was flying before, I had spent a lot of money on a lawyer to have my records from when I was 18 and 22 yrs old sealed so I would not have to answer yes. When I was 18 I got arrested for minor transporting alcohol and receiving stolen goods. All charges were dismissed or thrown out. Can I legally answer no when they ask if I've been arrested?
It was so long ago but I dont want to have to explain some stupid stuff that takes me out of the running for a job.

I am 46 yrs old. I was a pilot for a regional airline for about a year up until sept. 11 2001. I had to quit and find other work to support my family because I was only making about 22k/yr and the future did not look that bright.