• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Employment Application Privacy Violation

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

dlwoodjr

What is the name of your state? TX

I am a manager for a big box retailer. I was approached by a company 6 months ago that I should come work for them. I was instructed to visit their website to submit an application. I did and was contacted by the Hiring Manager. After a short conversation, I told the individual I was not interested in their offer. There was no reason for them to contact my employer for a reference check or background check. I thought this was the end of it.

Recently, my employer came to me asking if I was planning on leaving because he was told I had gone looking for a job at the previous company that tried to recruit me. He told me to be honest with him because he would need to start looking for my replacement. I informed him of the circumstances and that I was not looking for other employment. I found out from a superior that the information was given to my current employer by an individual who works for the company who approached me, but is also a former employee where I am at that I personally had to let go due to his inability to work his scheduled shifts. Further more I have had another manager from another office contact me asking me if I was leaving the company.