• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Ethics of leaving a job

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

newtoworkforce

I am in New York.

I am a recent college grad, and just began my job search. I interviewed at a company, and was hired quickly, and started immediately. The problem is that I do not like my job too much- I interviewed not expected to get the job, nor expecting to accept it. I know it's not really a legal question, but how much time should pass before it would not look bad to resign my position? Thanks for your time.

C

CheeseBlotto

Don't like your job? There's a support group for that. It's called everybody and they meet at the bar.

I'd stick out the job until I found another one that advances you career in some manner.

Beth3

Look bad to who? Your present employer or prospective employers?

Leaving one job voluntarily not long after you accepted it isn't going to be the kiss of death as it relates to your future employment prospects. An individual just out of college accepting the "wrong" job is easily understood and explained in an interview. Having a string of jobs with short tenure in each would prove to be problematic however.