• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Ex-employer wants me to sign a "release from claims".

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

XTMT

What is the name of your state?What is the name of your state? Florida - company in Georgia

I had worked at home for a national medical transcription company based out of Georgia. After working with this company for 3 years without a raise (after multiple "policy changes" regarding raises after my hire) I found out that new hires with less experience and less skill were starting out at a much higher compensation rate than I had been working with for 3 years. I quit this company about a month ago and just received a letter from the former company that included a release they wanted me to sign. I was really surprised by this and i asked some other former employees of this company if they had received this release, and some had.

It came with a letter regarding information pertaining to COBRA for medical insurance, final paycheck, 401K, and returning company equipment. Then almost as a P.S., there was a page 2 that said:

"Based upon the above, you hereby release, for yourself and all people who may act on your behalf, (name of company), and its subsidiaries, affiliates, officers, employees, and agents from all claims or causes of action, arising from or relating to your employment with (name of company), including, but not limited to, any such claims or causes of action arising under any Federal or State law, including Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1965 and 1991 or the Age Discrimination in Employment Act, as amended."