• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

excessive absaenteeism

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

P

pgh8959

excessive absenteeism

What is the name of your state? Virginia

What is considered excessive absenteeism? I am a manager for a small company and I have a couple of employees I would like to put on notice for excessive absenteeism. This is not a diciplimary action. Its only a memo stating that they have missed X number of days and they need to make sure that they come to work. The memo also states that any future call outs the person must have acceptabe documentation for the absence. The employees are part of a collective bargaining agreement. However the contract is mute on the subject of absenteeism. When I informed our H/R department, I was told that if someone calls off sick there is nothing I can do because of ADA and FMLA. Is this imformation correct? If not, could someone let me know of any guidelines for diciplinary actions relating to excessive absenteeism. I would appreciate any information on this subject Thank you

Last edited:

JETX

"What is considered excessive absenteeism?"
*** Whatever the employer says is excessive.

Beth3

"When I informed our H/R department, I was told that if someone calls off sick there is nothing I can do because of ADA and FMLA. Is this imformation correct?" That is not remotely correct and if that is what your HR department is telling their managers, they don't know s*** from shinola. (And I say that as an HR professional myself.)