• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

facing termination for swearing.

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Status
Not open for further replies.

tsunami beach

What is the name of your state?MI

I am a nursing student working as an aide a hospital. I was suspended for swearing in front of a patient. The patient complained.

Yes, I was rushed, and inpatient and I did swear in my haste, albeit in an under my breath sort of way. Should I actually admit this to my employer? I'd like to just be honest. We are a human and do dumb things at times, but I'm looking at getting fired and as I said, I am soon to be a nurse. This is quite a price to pay for this minor screw up.

I was already warned once in the past about swearing, so I it is no secret that I tend to swear. I really think they'll ax me over this. The patient was very upset. Oh yes, I also told her she was too "heavy" which she was (she was quite fat, so this probably wasn't too smooth a move on my part), I could hardly get her off the commode. But, patients need to ambulate, not just lay in bed. I was wrong here too. I know this. You know, it gets hectic on the floor at times, I just let my frustrations get the better of me.

So, what should I actually admit to? Swearing is against hospital ploicy I'm quite sure, and I have been warned before!

Should I admit this in my written response? I have to submit somthing to the union rep and the truth really doesn't seem to pay.

rmet4nzkx

tsunami beach said:

I am a nursing student working as an aide a hospital. I was suspended for swearing in front of a patient. The patient complained.