• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

fired for being disabled

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Status
Not open for further replies.

krh69

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Tennessee

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? TN

I have Psoriatic arthritis and have probelems with my rights arm, elbow and hand and my left hip, knee and ankle (it is assymetrical). I have been working at a Server at a Restaurant, which I have been doing for over 15 years. I started a new job in November and advised them of my condition and told them I would do my best to do all the job requirements including lifting heavy trays of food.

I did this up until the last few weeks, when my elbow started swelling and I had severe pain in it. I advised then that I couldn't lift the trays, but I could carry 2 plates at a time and do other things like run salads and things that are not that heavy.

With the Arthritis, I get severe fatigue also,and sometimes it is all I can do to stay awake. I have been doing a great job and have gotten many compliments on my performance. Every night each server gets a rating based on their performance from 1 to 5, and I consistently get a 4 or 5.

Well today I got fired and the boss said the reason was because I could not perform the job and that I looked "out of it" sometimes. I tried explaining that my illness made me fatigued sometime and also asked if I had any complaints from customers. He said no, no one had complained.

I think this is a clear violation of the ADA and wanted to know if I had a case.

cbg

I'm a Northern Girl
There does not have to be a complaint from a customer.