• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

fired for drug test results

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

C

c0rspenc

What is the name of your state? Florida
I work as a truck mechanic. I have always had aches and pains but recently I got an MRI and it showed multiple back problems and I was put on codine based pain medication. I turned in a request for "light work" and two weeks later the company sent me in for a drug screening. Obviously, they found codine and as a result they fired me.
What do employees do who are in pain and on medication. Can they be fired for taking prescription medications? Florida unemployment also states that if you test positive for drugs, you can not collect unemployment since you were fired "for cause".
This seems really unfair. Any suggestions?

I AM ALWAYS LIABLE

c0rspenc said:
I work as a truck mechanic. I have always had aches and pains but recently I got an MRI and it showed multiple back problems and I was put on codine based pain medication. I turned in a request for "light work" and two weeks later the company sent me in for a drug screening. Obviously, they found codine and as a result they fired me.
What do employees do who are in pain and on medication. Can they be fired for taking prescription medications? Florida unemployment also states that if you test positive for drugs, you can not collect unemployment since you were fired "for cause".

My response:

How can you, in your "right" mind, think that it's proper for you to work as a mechanic when you're taking a "heavy" drug such as codeine?