• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Fired, former Employer requesting UserID's and passwords

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

maico1

What is the name of your state?What is the name of your state? North Carolina.

Hi, after 24 years I was laid off 2 weeks ago as part of a massive lay off. I received a message on my machine from the HR person requesting that I email her the UserIDs and passwords to all the systems I had access to. (I worked in IT).

I'm uncomfortable doing this because I don't think anyone should be logging on as me. They could delete data etc. using my UserID and blame me for it.

Do I have any obligation to do this? Can they withhold my severance if I don't?

Thanks

cbg

I'm a Northern Girl
You are probably not obligated to to this and whether or not it can affect your severance depends on the terms of the agreement.

However, it is not unreasonable of them to need the information you suggest.

Is there another way you could provide them with the information other than by e-mail?

maico1

Hi CBG,

Thanks so much for your reply. I could give it to them by phone I guess. Is there any reason I should not do it by email? I guess this would give me some proof if something happened that it was not me. (That other people could log on as me.) Do you think it would be unreasonable of me to request who will receive them and what they will be used for? As mentioned before in other messages an administrator could change the password on my accounts and they could access them that way so I really don't see the need for it, but I'm not too adverse to it.