• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Fired for "Misconduct"- Fact Finding Interview Tomorrow. Advice?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

rockthegoddess

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Virginia

Hi Guys!

I have a fact-finding interview with the Virginia Employment Commission to determine whether or not I was fired for misconduct. Here's a brief summary of the situation:

I have been a restaurant manager for nine years. I worked for this company for a year. I was fired by my District Manager in April for posting something not job-related on my Facebook. I appealed, and won my appeal with the HR company. I was hired back, paid all of my back pay, and took no loss in tenure. I don't think my District Manager appreciated that very much. :(

I was short $97 in August. I have NEVER been short in all my life. I notified my District Manager immediately, and even offered to pay it back because it's my responsibility. He wrote me up for this incident a month later. Literally.

On October 11th, my General Manager (I'm an assistant manager for a casual dining chain) walked in unexpectedly, asked me if I was aware of the cash handling policy (obviously I was- I was just written up for something that mandated I re-read and sign said policy). I answered yes. That was that.