• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

fired for not fitting in?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

P

planegeek

What is the name of your state? COLORADO

(sorry, couldn't be more brief)

Without warning, on 12/10/03, I was fired for “job abandonment without management approval” that occurred 11/23/03. I was a salaried customer service manager. Paid for 8, scheduled for 10. I notified the only other csm on duty and said I’d be leaving one hour early…working 9 hours instead of 10. She was aware of my early departure and raised no concerns about doing so.
With or with management approval, managers don’t always work a full 10 hours. For example, the csm who is scheduled for the graveyard shift barely makes it past 8 hours. Her early departures have been addressed by upper management, and her trend continues. Upper management has been overly vocal regarding her leaving early, but discipline has yet to be enforced. It’s been said because her shift is not desirable, she is allowed to carry on the way she does. Her attendance, job performance, and attitude have given her a hugely negative reputation, but she still has a job.
Two to three months ago, I had an annual performance review. I scored well and was praised for numerous accomplishments. No negative issues or concerns were mentioned.