• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

fired unjustly?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

therapist

What is the name of your state? IL

i worked as a massage therapist at a well-respected women's only spa in chicago until today when i got a call that i was terminated. last saturday, i had complained against a client who was being inappropriate while i was in session with her in the treatment room. i had sought out the manager to come and deal with it, but she instead sent me back to finish the massage, citing that i had not given her enough information to be able to feel comfortable kicking the client out. after the session, the manager had me talk to a therapist who had worked at the spa since 2000. she also had never had to deal with anything like that and so was of no real help to me. at that point, all i really wanted to do was to leave since i was feeling completely unempowered not to mention unsupported. later that evening, i decided that i was not ready to face the treatment room for work the next day and left a message saying that i won't be coming in. i also spoke to them the next morning and told them that i needed to take a personal day because i was still feeling very shaken. the person i spoke to on the phone was very sympathetic and told me to go ahead and take the time i needed. my next day to work was today, but i got a call from the manager last night on my voicemail telling me that she had taken me out of the schedule. i felt that that probably meant that we had to speak in person, so i went to the spa twice today, both times calling ahead to let them know that i'm coming in to speak to the manager. both times missing her, having just stepped out to run