• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Fired for wanting paycheck

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

mjames2497

What is the name of your state?What is the name of your state? Ohio
First of all the "at-will" law is a farce. Thankfully it is being tested in the courts. I worked as a maintenance man at apartment complex for 3 years as an employee. The property was sold and I stayed on. Recieved my first paycheck and was dumbfounded to find no taxes being taken out. I had heard that the new owners use independent contractors for everything even though they had ALL the control over hours and pay. I was also an important part to the extent that they needed me for maintenance. Keep in mind I was NEVER told I was an independent contractor, nor did I ever sign anything. I waited almost 5 weeks for another paycheck. I made a decision to tell them that I would be in the next morning but if I didn't get a paycheck I would leave. No paycheck I left. Same thing the next day,reported for work,no pay,went home. Got a call later that day saying I had a paycheck. I said I would be into work the next day. I was told not to come to work, I had quit. I said I did not quit! I was not allowed to return to work. The check I received was not what I was owed and I informed them of this. I waited 2 months and then decided to file small claims. The magistrate ruled I was owed this money plus he found that I was indeed an employee. Because the owners did not show up to fight the case, I was not allowed to claim they owed me more than I originally asked for because I was not paid overtime. As of this writing I still have not received a W-2 or 1099 from them. When the new owners took over....it was BEF