• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

FMLA and Autism

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Waitingme

Puerto Rico (Commonwealth but treated as a state in some laws like labor law - federal applies)

Good day to all:

I am a bit frustrated with my legal research specifically regarding the Family Medical Leave Act and taking for example a child with autism. I am a law student and cant find anything specific to autism and this benefit of the twelve weeks without pay. I found a case of Navarro v. Pfizer that does apply to parent's taking care of children over 18 (pregnant daughter) but I dont know exactly if autism would apply? I would assume so. If so, would it matter if the employee was hired before or after the condition was acknowledge? What rights exactly would the parent "taking care of" the child with a serious disability would have? How would the benefits apply? Is this a 12 week non pay benefit to leave per year? Would it be lawful to fire this person due to this condition? Also, but more on a social question, how many parent's of autistic children actually work outside their homes and have benefits for this situation? Is autism applicable for the FMLA? Are there any jurisprudence available?

Thank you so much,
Patiently Waiting Me.

Beth3

Is the autistic child over age 18 or under?

If under, then it would depend whether the child's autism qualifies as a "serious health condition" as defined in the FMLA. (See 29 CFR 825.114). If the child is over age 18, then the parents' eligibility also depends on whether the child is capable of self-care.