• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Forced Employee Rankings - Nevada

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

thatITguy5

I am a manager of personnel in an IT department for a major US bank that it is in the process of undergoing consolidation initiatives. As part of the consolidation, two locations (one in Nevada and one in New Jersey) will be shutdown and relocat to a single site in Texas. As part of this process, no relocation assistance is being offered. Instead, every employee at both sites is being JD's (job discontinued) and is expected to apply for a position Texas if they want one. Everyone will receive severance according to their years of service, but not all will be rehired. As preparation for not rehiring all who wish to go, we as managers were mandated to rank 10% of our staff as "partially effective" at the end of last year. As we approach the consolidation process, HR required that managers write a performance improvement plan for these individuals using a pre-formatted document that contains legal verbiage stating the employee could be terminated within 90 days. I have stated to HR that these employees' performance does not rate such a document this year. I have been repeatedly pressured to produce these documents and have the employees sign them. I believe that the intent of the company is to deny severance benefits to this 10% of the staff by terminating them for cause prior to the commencement of the JD process. Can I be forced to put my name on a document that I don't believe to be true? Can these employees be denied benefits? What are my rights if I refuse to comply?

swalsh411