• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Forced Overtime?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

O

OTed2Death

My manager told me that I must work at least 2 overtime days a month (a total of 25 hours). As of October 10th I have worked over 260 hours of overtime. I work in Connecticut. Some of my co-workers don't work overtime. What can my employer do to me if I refuse to work overtime?

L

lawrat

I am a law school graduate. What I offer is mere information, not to be construed as forming an attorney client relationship.

Here are a couple of questions and answers that may be helpful. Also, check out www.eeoc.gov

CAN AN EMPLOYER FIRE A WORKER THAT REFUSES TO WORK ON HIS SCHEDULED DAY OFF? MY BOSS SAID MY REFUSAL IS AN ACT OF INSUBORDINATION.
Most people are employees at will and have no employment contracts or union contracts that protect them. That means that a boss can fire them at will for any legal reason (that carves out such things such as race, color, creed, etc.) or no reason at all. If there is an employment contract, or a union, that's different.

Most bosses aren't stupid enough to do random firings as it can be horrible for morale. Also, most large companies have rules that their local managers are told to comply with, that are designed to prevent arbitrary firings as senior managements know that it is bad for business long term. But insubordination is always one ground that is open. You can comply or appeal to higher management, but if push comes to shove, you'd probably be out, not the boss.