• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Forced Resignation from School District

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Stevensevil

Hello. I was forced to resign from one of the largest school districts in TEXAS on the last day of school with no warning. I am a teacher aide with no contract.

I was not planning to come back next year, but the problem with me signing off on the resignation is that it meant that I resigned from the district, not just the particular school that I work at. I am planning on being a teacher next year in this district so I cannot have that. The principal said overall she was not happy with my work.

I didn't read carefully what I was signing and just thought I was resigning from the school, I didn't find out that I resigned from the district until I got home and read it. There were two principals in the room and I was uncomfortable and didn't want to read through it... I just wanted out of there. Does the principal have the right to make me resign from the entire school district? She said if I did not resign, she would "start the termination process immediately". I am in a teacher's union but I cannot call them until Monday so I'm curious what you guys would have to say.What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? TEXAS

Last edited:

cbg

I'm a Northern Girl
If the principal is not happy with your work as a teacher's aide, what makes you think that the same district would hire you as a teacher?

Stevensevil