• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Forced to take a combined job

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

troy

What is the name of your state? SC
I have been working for a government agency for 3 years as an business manager. My boss recently approached me with the idea of combining my job with the pr job and giving me an 10% increase now and possibly a 10% increase 6 months down the road. Now my boss has been paying someone a fulltime salary for years to do this job, but the lady that is currently in the job has only been in it for a year and a half and he stripped the job down and passed off portions to me and others. Yes her job can be done by someone parttime currently. Anyway, after asking me 5 times to take the job and me refusing to take 10%, he placed an ad in the newspaper as a combined job. This happen over a week ago and he has not gotten any good leads...so now he has decided to give the job to someone in the office that is not qualified and does not have the accounting or pr background. I have heard through the grapevine that I will be approached next week about training this person. If I refuse to train this person and I am fired, does this mean I am disqualified from getting unemployment? Also do I have any other actions I could take?

mlane58

I refuse to train this person and I am fired, does this mean I am disqualified from getting unemployment?
Only your state's unemployment division can mqake that determination
Also do I have any other actions I could take?
Nothing as you are an at will employee (unless you have a bona fide contract) your employer can terminate your employment for any reason they see fit as long as it isn't illegal under Title VII.