• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

giving a reason for letting me go

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

lzurinsky

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Michigan

I have been working for a company since June (3rd) and just got let go today at the end of my shift. The director of HR said he did not have to give me a reason for letting me go. I knew this was coming not because I wasn't doing my job but because this is how they treat their employees. My questions is does he have to give me a reason for letting me go? Also, I had been working for my husband for the last 4 years part time and there just isn't enough money coming in to support my pay. So another question would be since I have worked for the last 18 months (like michigan law requires) how would this effect my husbands business and his payment in unemployment insurance payments?

Antigone*

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Michigan

I have been working for a company since June (3rd) and just got let go today at the end of my shift. The director of HR said he did not have to give me a reason for letting me go. I knew this was coming not because I wasn't doing my job but because this is how they treat their employees. My questions is does he have to give me a reason for letting me go? Also, I had been working for my husband for the last 4 years part time and there just isn't enough money coming in to support my pay. So another question would be since I have worked for the last 18 months (like michigan law requires) how would this effect my husbands business and his payment in unemployment insurance payments?