• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Harrassed by Payroll Controller and Working for Free

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

J

johnsde1

I work as a Project Mgr (Consultant) at a large telecommunications company in the Bay Area.(California). I got the job through a HeadHunter/Consulting Group with its headquarters located on the east coast (Missouri.)

My problems all started with checks drafted on the east coast and a merger of two banks.

Every pay period, either my check was refused at the bank or it was eventually paid after about an hour of negotiation. In any event it was a huge problem to get paid every two weeks.

I called my Payroll Controller on the east coast and advised the problem but was brushed off and told that the problem was at my bank. I could not make the Payroll Controller believe that I was having the problem at every and any bank (B of A).

It was investigated by myself, a bank manager and the bank business office and discovered that all checks being issued from this office was missing some routing information. When I called back to the Payroll Controller on the east coast, i was told again that it was my problem only. Which is definitely not the case.

After discovering that i was not going to be assisted, I asked for a manager or supervisor. I was promptly hung up on. When I called back the payroll controller would not come to the phone. There was no yelling, cursing. I just wanted to resolve the problem.