• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Have i got a case for unfair dismissal

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

dentalclueless

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)?

I am a nurse from the uk and i'm just trying to find out if I have a case against my ex-employer. I worked for a surgery for over 2 years and everything has been ok up til recently. I have a long term mental health problem but it doesn't really affect my ability to do my job. I attend regular reviews which normally would not disrupt my working day but if they do happen to fall in working hours, it's usually just for an hour and I return back to work instantly and continue with my job. A month ago I woz signed off work for depression for 2 weeks, this did not go down too well as we were understaffed due to a nurse being off for maternity leave, and my colleagues displayed their disgust at my not being thereon a social networking site, they had made snide comments in the past and had sometimes been difficult with me buti had always just got on with my job, ignored the comments and maintained civil with them so as not to shake up the working environment. When I approached them about the online comments which were made public for all to see I was faced with a huge altercation from all the staff which ended with them informing me that my personal circumstances and medical issues were found intolerable by my employer and they felt they had the right to mention this as my boss "didn't have the balls" ( a direct quote) to tell me himself. For the next few days I was hounded by my peers for my fit to work notice which I had informed them I would be bringing to my boss himself when he returned to work from a