• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

healthcare/background checks

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

J

jessedmatthews

What is the name of your state? PA

I have a bachelor's in psychology and am nearly finished with my master's degree. I worked in the mental health field for a year after college. While I was in college, I got into a little bit of trouble...I got involved in a fight after a party, in an attempt to break it up and save a friend of mine from getting beat up. I ended up getting charged with aggravated assault, even though I didn't even touch the kid who got hurt, but was named as being involved. Well I later plead guilty to simple assault (misdemeanor) and reckless endangerment (misdemeanor) and was given 1 year of probation, which I completed successfully. SO, now I am trying to get back into my field and I want to know if my conviction for these 2 misdemeanors is going to prevent me from getting a job (i.e. is there a law that says they cannot hire me)? To my knowledge, I couldn't get hired if I had a felony on my record, but I don't. The aggravated assault was expunged (I have proof) due to the lesser charges. PLEASE HELP!!

Beth3

Do you have a professor, a college career counselor, or mentor at school you can put this question to? Whether these convictions will prove to be a hindrance in pursuing a job in your chosen field is extremely specific to your field. Just general info about employment and conviction records isn't going to be of very much help to you.

J

jessedmatthews