• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

HELP

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

K

kub21

I work for a newspaper in California. Recently they "laid my supervisor off", which I have been doing her job since March 2001 with no pay raise. My supervisor happens to be my mother. Which will come into affect later. My situation is this. I had a baby in March of 99, at that time my son could come to work with me. I had an incident with my son drinking out of a dirty cup. (I didn't make a big deal with anyone. I just simply went home. I thought my son drank out of a cup who belong to a person who is HIV positive. I didn't say anything to anybody, I just went home for the day.) A co-worker heard another co-worker calling the main office telling them the situation. Two days later it was made corporate policy no children allowed in the building only for visitions. They only gave us 24hour notice. In the policy it clearly states that if you fail to follow the rules you will be subject to discipline, up to and including termination. Since that time 2 other employees brought their children in several times. No write up or discipline was handed out. I feel that this was done delibertly to me.