• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Hipaa

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Status
Not open for further replies.

march3012

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Illinois

I graduated from Illinois State University and I recently requested a copy of my transcript. It has the word Illinois School for the Deaf listed under high school. That can be a problem when I apply for jobs, but only if employers ask for transcript and some did. I asked ISU to take it off or use ISD. They said they cannot do that. I think this violates HIPAA as deaf is a medical condition and the transcript has my name. What do you think and what rights do I have to fix this?

Ohiogal

Queen Bee
What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Illinois

I graduated from Illinois State University and I recently requested a copy of my transcript. It has the word Illinois School for the Deaf listed under high school. That can be a problem when I apply for jobs, but only if employers ask for transcript and some did. I asked ISU to take it off or use ISD. They said they cannot do that. I think this violates HIPAA as deaf is a medical condition and the transcript has my name. What do you think and what rights do I have to fix this?
What is the name of the school from which you graduated? Is it Illinois School for the Deaf?
But it is NOT a HIPAA violation.

cbg

I'm a Northern Girl
HIPAA is nowhere near as broad as most people think. The large majority of people and entities are not subject to HIPAA at all. Since this information did not come from a doctor, hospital, medical billing clearing house, health insurance plan or other covered entity, HIPAA does not apply and there is no violation.