• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Hiring laws California REQUIRING bilingual

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

kane5150

California : What are the laws on REQUIRING bilingual for being hired into a position within California?: I have more then 15 years experience in the maintenance field, and a disabled veteran (ADA) , but yet and being passed over for employment in the state of California in the commercial / residential maintenance employment market solely due to the fact that I do not speak Spanish. Is this / can this be legal? :mad:What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)?

cbg

I'm a Northern Girl
It not only can be legal, it is legal. There is nothing illegal about requiring an employee to be bilingual if there is a business necessity for the second language. After all, anyone of any nationality can learn to speak Spanish.

Beth3

What cbg said. Yes, it's legal. Speaking additional languages is a skill, just like any other job skill, and can be learned by anyone. In those areas of the country where there is a sizable Hispanic population, requiring English and Spanish speaking skills is fairly common - and legal.

TigerD

I once was also rejected for a job. The application asked if I was bi-lingual and I checked yes. My interviewer asked me how longer I had spoken Spanish. I told her I don't speak Spanish. she accused me of lying on the app. I told her I spoke German, French and Arabic. So she says, "But you don't speak Spanish so you are not bi-lingual."

I feel your pain. But I wanted to be competitive in later employment so I took the time to learn Spanish. It isn't that hard to learn. You can do it.

DC

pattytx