• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Hostile Work Environment/Retaliation??

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

D

DianeMac

I live and work in the state of Texas and would like to obtain some advice on a situation that has been left unresolved by my employer since February, 2000.

I contacted the HR department after having learned from my manager that not only had my year end bonus been reduced by approximately 6K, but senior management was questioning the number of billable hours I had recorded in our internal accounting system. As a consultant I receive a bonus twice a year, which is based on a percentage of revenue generated on billable hours/days, management objectives and customer satisfaction. The reduction of my bonus was due to a reduction of my daily billing rate for 10 days of consulting services and for consulting days for which I was not given credit. I am a professional and not required to "punch" a time clock, but I am responsible for recording the hours/days that I work on a project in our accounting system, which generates the customer invoices.