• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

I let go of my employee.

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Westin

What is the name of your state? Illinois

Greetings. I am a general manager of a restaurant . I have been trying to force one of my employees to quit for some time now.(so I dont have to worry about her unemployment) She was hired to be a server. I changed her duty to be a cashier/ server. She made less tips when she worked at the close out cash register. It set me off when she didnt want to help me out. So I have been wanting to get rid of her since. When She approached me about this I took away Sundays from her (which is the busiest day for business) hoping this would make her want to quit. She no called no showed two days in a row. When she came back to work I was still too worried to fire her. I told her we "let her go" and pretty much tricked her into signing a form stating she "voluntarily quit" . I had to do this to save my position. I lose part of my bonus if anyone collect benefits. Can she still collect? Should I be worried?

Happy Trails

Westin said:
What is the name of your state? Illinois