• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

I was terminated for driving a work vehicle with an expired license.

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Brian Conlee

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? California

My birthday was August 4 2013 and my license had expired without me knowing I am a truck driver and it just happened I had got pulled into the truck scales for a routine safety check on August 8, 2013 (4 days after my birthday) and the officer asked me for my license and I gave it to him and he told me it had expired 4 days earlier. I told him I didn't receive anything in the mail from the DMV regarding renewal. I told him that I had just renewed my drivers green card and he believed me and did not ticket me. He made me call my employer and had them come get the truck. No ticket was given to me or the company. The next day I was fired for gross negligence which I am totally at fault for, but it was not on purpose, if I would have known it had expired I would of taken care of it ASAP since this is how I earn my living. I filed for Unemployment and had an legibility interview and it's been 21 days since the interview and I have not received anything from Unemployment. The interviewer told me that I would receive the states determination in the mail in 10 days as to me being legible or non legible.. Do you think I will receive my unemployment benefits? I appreciate any help with this question that I can get. Do to cutbacks at Unemployment they only accept phone calls between 8-12 Monday- Friday. I have called everyday for one week and I can not get through. Thanks Brian

CdwJava