• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

I Want to go work for a Cient.

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

L

lookingforwork

What is the name of your state? Iowa

I'm an IT consultant who works for a large Accounting/Consulting firm. I'm looking to get out of the consulting world and would like to go work for a client. However, I am not barred by an employment agreement, the client may be barred from hiring me based on "Terms and Agreements" that are listed in the proposals which clients sign-off on for projects.

Here is the exact verbage:

"Nonsolicitation: In consideration of the parties executing this Agreement, and other good and valuable consideration, the adequacy and sufficiency of which the Client acknowledges, Client agrees that it shall not, during the term of this Agreement and for a period of one (1) year following termination of this Agreement, directly or indirectly, by any means or device whatsoever, on behalf of Client or on behalf of, or in conjunction with any person, partnership, corporation, or other entity solicit, induce, entice, or hire, or attempt to hire or employ, or refer employment opportunities to, any employee of [MyEmployer]. In the event Client breaches this provision, Client agrees to pay to [MyEmployer] within thirty (30) days after demand, an amount equal to the greater of $50,000 or 100 percent (100%) of the annual base salary of any such [MyEmployer] employee."

How legal is this? Even if the client doesn't solicite me, how can this prevent me from applying for a job with this client, if they have a position open??

Any advice would be greatly appriciated.

K

krispenstpeter

How legal is this?
Yep