• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

IC and have not been paid

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

roadhand

What is the name of your state? Texas

I worked as an employee for a surveying corporation for 6 years. In Sept. of last year I left and started my own business (sole proprietor) and have periodically did some work for my former employeer as an independant contractor. I do the work and invoice him once a month. I have not performed any work on his jobs lately and he still owes me $1800 from his last invoice from december that was due in January. He has been giving me the run around and every excuse for why he cant pay me. What can I do legally to get my money out of this guy?

I AM ALWAYS LIABLE

roadhand said:
What is the name of your state? Texas

I worked as an employee for a surveying corporation for 6 years. In Sept. of last year I left and started my own business (sole proprietor) and have periodically did some work for my former employeer as an independant contractor. I do the work and invoice him once a month. I have not performed any work on his jobs lately and he still owes me $1800 from his last invoice from december that was due in January. He has been giving me the run around and every excuse for why he cant pay me. What can I do legally to get my money out of this guy?

My response:

If you were in New York, your answer would be simple - - a Louisville "Slugger" across the knees.

However, did you REALLY need to have someone tell you to file a claim in Small Claims court?

IAAL

roadhand

I was thinking small claims but was not sure if being so far out of my lien rights would effect it. Thank you for your suggestion