• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Illegal Divulging of my SS#

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

L

lylewood

I am a resident of Michigan, however, this is about an offense that occurred in Texas.

Last year, my wife and I gave our Social Security numbers and other information to a company in Texas, in order to become a distributor of their products. An employee of the company, probably without the knowledge of the company, gave or sold my wife's information to a conspirator outside the company, who opened many fraudulent accounts, and created an identity theft nightmare for us. This came to light when the detective investigating our case found solid evidence that the employee had given or sold the information to this other person. I believe that the employee has since been fired.

We are wondering if we have grounds for a civil lawsuit against the company. Are they not legally responsible to protect the private information that they required us to give to them, which we gave with full expectation that it would not be divulged to others? Is the company liable for criminal actions of their employees when it involves harm done to the company's customers/distributors, using information given to the company?

Thanks for an opinionl.
Lyle Wood

JETX