• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Job forced me to resign, union no help

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

P

panno

I'll try to make this as simple as possible. I worked for a radio station in Boston, and about 2 weeks ago they forced me to resign because of a misunderstanding.

I worked as a receptionist and was in charge of the incoming mail. About 2 months prior to this, a letter had been delivered to my workplace that got torn up in transit. The only thing you could make out on the envelope was the address (the contact name and return address had been torn off). Inside this envelope were some concert tickets, so I asked around the station to see who they belonged to (as I normally would do) and nobody knew. I kept them for over a month, and still no one had claimed them so I had given them to an employee of the station. Well apparently these tickets belonged to one of our managers, and when they noticed that they hadn't received them, the manager had the tickets re-issued, BUT never asked me if I had seen them (out of common sense, knowing that I deal with all the mail, I should've have been asked about this)